Cheraw State Park

Chesterfield - Cheraw SP - 14 bridge over Lake Juniper Dam

Cheraw State Park is located just outside of the town of Cheraw off US52. However way you get there, it’s a pleasant drive. I took US1 through McBee. I wanted to see the peach tree blossoms. I was either too late or too early, but no matter I got to visit other sites and had just a good a time on my trip to the park as I did in the park.
The park is know more the large championship, 18-hole golf course. While not a golfer myself, I admired the greens and trees. You have to pass the course to get to the Lake Juniper, a 300 acre lake created by the CCC (Civilian Conservation Corps) back in the 1930’s. They built a number of structures in the park as well, but not the boardwalk that curves around a section of the lake. From it you can explore the cypress wetlands that line the lake. Or explore it by renting a kayak or canoe. Being along, I opted not to go out on the lake. I’m not much of a water person anyway, preferring to look at it instead of being on it. or via a boardwalk that runs along the lake.
I saw a nice camping area on my walk. There are cabins to rent as well. Visit the web site for more information on that. Other activities include fishing, swimming, and biking, hiking, and horse riding on their extensive trail system. One bike trail is nine miles long.
The walking trails include the Turkey Oak Trail, a 4.5-mile loops, with a shorter 1.9 mile loop, and the Boardwalk Trail. Besides running along the lake it crosses the dam spillway. Walk with care and you can spot turtles sunning themselves.

How to Get There:
As said there are several ways to get there. One can use US1 from Columbia. If you are traveling via I95, take exit 164 and take US52 toward Darlington and on toward Cheraw.

Links:
http://www.southcarolinaparks.com/cheraw/introduction.aspx

What’s Close by:
Sand Hills State Forest is right next to the park as is H. Cooper Black Jr. Recreation Area, a place more equestrians.
Carolina Sandhills NWR. This is a must see.

Leave a Reply

